Making A TV Show and Going to World’s Strongest Woman, Among Other Things

What’s new? Everything.

My show is online. It’s about an exorcist helping the lost souls of NYC. It’s as exactly as rad and weird as it sounds. It’s called Asher.

Here’s the trailer.

You can watch FULL episode, for free HERE.

You can help me make the second episode by donating a few bucks (or a lot of bucks) HERE.

asher_exorcism3.png
Still from ASHER, Episode 1

The show is 20 minutes long, and we are gearing up to shoot an additional five episodes – a complete season of original mayhem for your viewing pleasure. I cannot wait.

We start shooting Episode 2 this week.

THE SEASON OF STRONGWOMAN

STRENGTH GAMES

This weekend, I fly out to San Clemente California to compete at the IHGF All-American Strength Games 2017, which is a qualifier for a big competition hosted in Norway next summer (The IHGF Stones of Strength World Championships, to be precise). It’s gonna be a blast.

Eating and sleeping well and reaping the benefits. Today's lifts all felt rock solid. 5×5 with the @mbpowercenter #Stoneofsteel at 165 lbs, worked on driving hard with the hips and doing a little less with my upper body, and following my chest through the push over the bar. Not only does this help me plop the stone straight down so my fielder can get it back to me faster, it prevents me from missing a good rep because I backed off too soon. #pickitup #followit #alrightalrightalright #comeherebaby #SoS #stoneofsteel #stonelifting #stoneloading #extension #pull #strongwoman #womenwholiftheavy #girlswhostrongman #strongman #strongmantraining #strongmantrainingtips #liftheavy #friyay #tgif #nystrong #powernyc #carastrong

A post shared by Cara Brennan (@captainstarbuck) on

STRONGMAN CORPORATION NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS

In about one month, I go to Las Vegas to compete for the 160 lb MW Women’s National title, and to qualify for the Arnold Classic. I feel 10 times the competitor I was last year, and I’m really excited for this show. I’m blessed to be able to go and have some family come see me compete on the national stage. Nationals is November 10th and 11th.

asher_gymstillLARGE.png
Still from ASHER, Episode 1

THE OFFICIAL STORNGMAN GAMES PRESENT: WORLD’S STRONGEST WOMAN & MAN 

 I did not think that within two years of starting to compete in strongwoman I would be able to compete alongside the strongest women on the planet, but the lifting gods were feeling generous. Through the orchestrations of promoter and all around rad dude Lynn Morehouse of Train Strongman, I, and about 20 other amateurs in the middleweight class, will get the chance.

We entered an online qualifier, submitting 3 lifts to certain specifications, and Official Strongman and Morehouse took the top 20 in each weight class. I tied for 5th among the middleweights. I’m going to Raleigh, NC to compete, the weekend before Christmas.

Whew, I am having a great fucking day. My #Indiegogo campaign for @ashertheseries has already raised $1,000 and it's only been up a few hours (which basically means we can start preproduction for episode 2) AND I did some ridiculous #strongwoman shit. I decided to do the qualifiers for the #officialstrongmangames. Here is my #farmercarry (100 ft with a turn halfway), 185.5 lbs a hand. Surprised myself on these and feel like I could have definitely hit 190-192 a hand or so, but it was pretty brutal so I wasn't about to try again. I've never done a heavy turn before so I surprised myself with this. Thanks @powernyc for the coaching as usual! #strong #strongman #womenwholiftheavy #strongmantraining #weightlifting #powerlifting #fitness #crossfit #girlswhostrongman #alpha #shirtismagic #nystrong #officialstrongman #strongmangames #strongmantraining #bodybyfarmercarry #heavyweight #nano7 #reebok #roguefitness #sbdapparell

A post shared by Cara Brennan (@captainstarbuck) on

Historically, WSW and WSM have not been hosted simultaneously, nor have all weightclasses been represented. Official Strongman and Train Strongman are billing this as the Strongman Games: World’s Strongest Man and World’s Strongest Woman, and it will be a first in the history of the sport both in size and representation across the sexes and divisions. It’s a big deal and it’s going to be a remarkable event. I’m so grateful for the opportunity to go and participate.
So I now have three competitions before the end of the year  (WSW will be my 19 strongman competiton and 20th strength sport event). Because these events are so close together, there won’t be much more training. I mean, I will train, drill the events and stay active, but there’s no more time to get strong, only rest and prepare. It feels like a karmic reward for taking time this summer to simply build and rest and be patient. I am grateful beyond description.

My writing is the only thing I’ve been neglecting this summer, but I have a few drafts waiting patiently to turn into full fledged pieces and I’ll hopefully carve out some time soon to let them bloom.

In the meantime, I have some giant stones lift and a TV show to produce.

Make sure you’re following me on Instagram and also following @Ashertheseries for show updates.

@Regrann from @captainstarbuck – Today is the day! The link to our #Indiegogo campaign is LIVE on my bio, and if you follow the links, you can watch the whole pilot episode for free! Check it out, tell me what thought, and if you know anyone who might dig it, please pass it along. This is a work of pure love, and both the love and the work are intense. Every single bit of support counts and is so, so meaningful, whether it's just a regram or a dollar or you showing your roommate. Thank you to everyone who is making this happen! I cannot wait to show you all what's next ! @ashertheseries #ShesGotDemons #AsherTheSeries #ASHER #FRIENDLYNEIGHBORHOODEXORCIST . . . . . . . #INDIESERIES #indiedreams #occult #witchyvibes #strongwoman #womeninfilm #strengthculture #indieproducer #spoopy #halloween #fall #fallinlovewithasher #horrorfilm #director #womenwholiftheavy #art #makedopeshit #horrorphotography – #regrann

A post shared by ASHER (@ashertheseries) on

Cara

Leave a Reply

